According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the demand for security officers in the Sunshine State is very high.
Here is the Florida Security Officer Handbook.
According to the Handbook:
IV. TRAINING REQUIREMENTS
a. An applicant for a Class “D” license must submit proof of successful completion of a minimum of 40 hours of professional training at a school or training facility licensed by the department.
3 b. An applicant for a Class “DI” Security Officer Instructor License shall have the following qualifications:
Be at least eighteen (18) years old;
AND Can evidence a high school diploma or a GED certificate;
AND Is licensed as a Class “D” security officer and has been so licensed not less than 3 years within the 5-year period immediately preceding application;
OR Can evidence an associate degree from a junior college or community college with a major course of study in criminology, criminal justice, police science, or other course of study related to law enforcement or security and is currently licensed as a security officer and has been so licensed for not less than 1 year;
OR Can evidence a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate degree from a college or university with a major course of study in education, criminology, criminal justice, police science, law or other course of study related to law enforcement or security.
OR Can evidence a certificate of completion from a federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement academy or training facility which is comparable in hours and curriculum to the training established by the Florida Criminal Justice Standards and Training Commission or the Department of Education as acceptable to meet law enforcement officer, correctional officer or correctional probation officer minimum standards;
OR Can evidence having served not less than 1 year on 4 active duty as a military policeman, security police officer, or in other military law enforcement duty;
OR Is currently licensed as a Class “M” office manager or a Class “MB” security office manager and is serving or has served in a licensed management position.
These are the licenses available for individuals in the state:
- “D” – Security Officer: Any individual who performs the services of a security officer must have a Class “D” license.
- “M” or “MB” – Manager of a Security Agency: A Class “B” Security Agency or Class “BB” or “AB” branch office must have a Class “M” or Class “MB” licensed manager.
- “G” – Statewide Firearm license: Only Class “D,” Class “M,” or Class “MB” licensees are permitted to bear a firearm and any such licensee who bears a firearm must also have a Class “G” license.
- “K” – Firearms Instructor: Any person who provides classroom and range instruction to applicants for Class “G” licensure must have a Class “K” license.
- “DI” – Security Officer Instructor: Any person who provides classroom instruction to applicants for Class “D” licensure must have a Class “DI” license.